National Teaching Fellows in languages, linguistics and area studies

The National Teaching Fellowship Scheme Individual Awards aim to:

  • raise the profile of learning and teaching
  • recognise and celebrate individuals who make an outstanding impact on the student learning experience
  • provide a national focus for institutional teaching and learning excellence schemes.  

The NTFS Individual Awards are funded by the Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE) and the Department for Employment and Learning in Northern Ireland (DELNI). Under the individual strand of the scheme 50 awards of £10,000 are made to staff to be used for personal development in learning and teaching.

A full list of National Teaching Fellowship Individual award holders is available on the National Teaching Fellowship Scheme website.

Name Year awarded Field Institution
(at time of award)
Prof Mick Short 2010 Linguistics Lancaster University
Sean Allan 2009 German Studies University of Warwick
Patricia Ashby 2010 English, linguistics and cultural studies University of Westminster
Lynne Barnes 2008 British Sign Language/ Deaf Studies University of Central Lancashire
Dave Burnapp 2007 Language learning/internationalisation University of Northampton
Nick Byrne 2001 Language learning London School of Economics
Richard Francis 2005 e-learning Oxford Brookes University
Clare Furneaux 2009 Applied linguistics University of Reading
Angela Goddard 2008 English language York St John University 
Margaret Johnson 2001 English language Open University
John Klapper 2006 Language learning University of Birmingham
Pamela Knights 2002 American literature Durham University
Marina Mozzon-McPherson 2004 Language learning University of Hull
Catherine Reynolds 2006 Careers University of Sussex
Alan Rice 2007 American Studies University of Central Lancashire
Arran Stibbe 2009 English language/linguistics University of Gloucestershire
Jane Sunderland 2007 Linguistics Lancaster University
Simon Sweeney 2006 European Integration & Management Studies York St John University
Rogelio Vallejo 2005 Hispanic Studies University of Bristol
Catherine Walter 2008 English language Institute of Education
Evelyn Welch 2007 Rennaisance Studies Queen Mary University
James Wilkinson 2010 Faculty of Professional Studies Thames Valley University
Jocelyn Wyburd 2002 Language learning University of Manchester


National Teaching Fellowship Scheme